aLoveLinksPlus Dating Advice Blog

January 18, 2008

Under construction

Filed under: Dating Service Review Requests — Tags: , , , — alovelinksplus @ 6:02 pm

www.IlookLikeYou.com is a seemingly fun place to waste some time and maybe even meet a person or two that looks like you.But read the membership terms completely before you join or you could be in a whole lot of trouble.I may be ahead of myself, but any site that says explicitly, they will not be sure to keep their website safe and you have to agree to:

DISCLAIMER FOR HARM CAUSED TO YOUR COMPUTER OR SOFTWARE FROM INTERACTING WITH THIS WEBSITE OR ITS CONTENTS. VISITOR ASSUMES ALL RISK OF VIRUSES, WORMS, OR OTHER CORRUPTING FACTORS.

is just plain bad business, even if the site is free.As well there is this which basically says we will bombard you with ads of all types should you actually visit the site:

LIMITATION OF LIABILITY

By viewing, using, or interacting in any manner with this site, including banners, advertising, or pop-ups, downloads, and as a condition of the website to allow his lawful viewing, Visitor forever waives all right to claims of damage of any and all description based on any causal factor resulting in any possible harm, no matter how heinous or extensive, whether physical or emotional, foreseeable or unforeseeable, whether personal or business in nature.

DISCLAIMER FOR HARM CAUSED BY DOWNLOADSV

isitor downloads information from this site at this own risk. Website makes no warranty that downloads are free of corrupting computer codes, including, but not limited to, viruses and worms.

Now then, you have to have certain programs installed to get through the site Ok. I couldn’t do much using Firefox but Internet Explorer was Ok. But, there are downloads involved when visiting and using their site, and they take no responsibility whatsoever?

Geesh…And if that wasn’t enough, here’s the icing on the cake:

SUBMISSIONS Visitor agrees as a condition of viewing, that any communication between Visitor and Website is deemed a submission. All submissions, including portions thereof, graphics contained thereon, or any of the content of the submission, shall become the exclusive property of the Website and may be used, without further permission, for commercial use without additional consideration of any kind. Visitor agrees to only communicate that information to the Website, which it wishes to forever allow the Website to use in any manner as it sees fit. “Submissions” is also a provision of the Privacy Policy.

They will actually OWN anything you post, photo, blog, whatever.

I’ve visited a few dating services like this and what they did was sell your information all over the place, to other dating services to pump up their membership numbers. Is this what you signed up for?

And this for the grand finale:

NOTICE

No additional notice of any kind for any reason is due Visitor and Visitor expressly warrants an understanding that the right to notice is waived as a condition for permission to view or interact with the website.

You agree to agree to anything they may want of you in the future without notice. Anything at all, forever.

As Ricky Ricardo would say “Lucy, you got some ‘splaining to do!”  

2 Comments »

  1. I’ve checked the terms and I think you’d better update you’re post because you’re quotes are wrong. I’m hoping this site will take off so comments like yours should at least be correct.

    Comment by curiel444 — May 11, 2008 @ 4:24 pm

  2. Yes, they have amended their terms of use to be much more user-centric. But they still retain the right to deem submissions as their properry, however, without negating your proprietary rights. http://ilooklikeyou.com/TermsAndConditions.aspx

    Comment by alovelinksplus — October 30, 2008 @ 5:47 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Blog at WordPress.com.